Europe’s No.1 in the Motorcycle

Changing brake discs on a motorcycle

When riding in traffic, good brakes are quite simply a matter of life or death. Which is why it's vital that every biker regularly checks their brakes – and that means more often than just the vehicle safety inspection required by law once every two years.

[HEADER: Changing brake discs on a motorcycle.]

Checking motorcycle brake discs for wear

Proper maintenance of your braking system includes changing old brake fluid, replacing worn brake pads and checking the brake discs. Every brake disc has a minimum thickness specified by the manufacturer, and when this service limit is reached, the disc must be replaced. You should check this with a micrometer, not a caliper gauge, because wear and tear causes the brake disc to form a small ridge at its outer edge which would falsify the measurement if you use a caliper gauge.

However, exceeding the thickness service limit is not the only reason for changing a brake disc. During heavy braking, the discs reach temperatures of up to 600°C. Temperature differences between the outer ring and inner carrier of the brake disc in particular produce uneven thermal expansion, which can cause the disc to distort. Extreme temperatures are not just a factor in racing, but also in normal, day-to-day biking. Travelling downhill on a mountain pass, where you're using your brakes constantly (often with heavy luggage and a pillion passenger), can push temperatures to mind-boggling heights. Sticking brake caliper pistons often generate high temperatures, and the constant contact with the brake pad can cause discs to wear extremely quickly. This can also cause discs to distort – a problem that particularly applies to discs with a large diameter and those that are rigidly mounted.

On modern motorcycles, the low-cost rigid discs tend to be used where the loads on the brake are relatively low. Today, the state of the art is floating brake discs on the front axle. These offer the following advantages:

  • Reduced rotating mass enhances handling
  • Less unsprung mass
  • Better adaptation of the materials to the demands made on them 

    More spontaneous brake response
  • Less tendency for the brake disc to warp

Floating discs have an inner ring which is bolted to the wheel hub and connected by movable floaters (a.k.a. bobbins) to the outer ring, which the brake pads press against during braking. If the axial play of this connection exceeds 1 mm, the brake disc will rattle, which is when it needs replacing. Any type of radial play generates a type of "run-on" when braking and will also cause your bike to fail the vehicle safety inspection.

Important: Read the instructions before you pick up any tools!

Double check that the disc you have purchased is approved for your specific bike and application according to the accompanying type approval. Only use the suitable tools for installing the disc. Always use a torque wrench to ensure that the screws of the brake disc and the caliper are correctly tightened.

To make sure you have the correct torque and model-specific data for your braking system, always consult a workshop manual for your motorcycle model or ask your local authorised dealer. You should only do work on your braking system, following the instructions below, if you are an experienced DIY mechanic. Don't put your safety at risk! If you're not sure you're able to do the job, definitely leave it to the professionals!

bike jack up
Jack up the bike and loosen the brake caliper

Changing a brake disc – step-by-step instructions

Loosen the brake caliper

First jack up your motorcycle securely in order to unload the wheel you are working on. If your bike is not fitted with a centre stand, you will need to use a paddock stand. Release the brake caliper(s) from the mount and replace the brake pads as described in the Tips for DIY mechanics, "Brake pads". Secure the brake caliper with wire to a part of the bike where it won't get in the way while you're removing the wheel – don't let it dangle on the brake hose.

wheel axle
Loosen the wheel axle and remove the wheel

Remove the wheel

Loosen the wheel axle and remove the wheel from the front fork/rear wheel swing arm.

fastening bolts
Undo the fastening bolts on the brake disc

Release the old brake disc

Lay the wheel on a suitable surface and undo the fastening bolts of the brake disc in diagonally opposite sequence. Always use quality tools that fit well, particularly if the hexagon socket screws are proving stubborn, and make sure that you insert the tool as far into the socket as possible to ensure a secure grip. If you strip the screw head so that no tool grips, removing the screw is going to be a real headache. If the screws prove very hard to shift, warming them and giving the tool a knock with a hammer can often help. If the hexagon socket of the screw head is stripped, you may be able to undo it by using a bit that is one size bigger and hammering it in so that it grips.

old brake disc
Remove the old brake disc

Remove the old brake disc

Take the old brake disc(s) off the hub and clean the contact surface. You need to remove any unevenness (residual paint or Loctite, etc.), and this is also a good opportunity to clean the rim and axle, as access is easier.

new brake disc
Fit new brake disc and fasten securely

Fit the new brake disc

Fit the new brake disc(s). Tighten the fastening bolts to the torque specified by the vehicle manufacturer, in diagonally opposite sequence. Always replace badly corroded or damaged fastening bolts with new ones.

Caution: If the manufacturer recommends the use of threadlock adhesive, apply this sparingly and carefully. Under no circumstances must the threadlocker be allowed to run under the contact surface of the brake disc, as this may impair the parallelism of the disc, which in turn can cause the brakes to rub. Install the wheel and brake caliper in reverse order. If working on the front wheel, pay attention to the running direction of the tyre.

checking brake and wheel
Check brake and wheel

Before actuating the handbrake cylinder, make sure that there is enough space in the brake fluid reservoir for the fluid level to rise. New pads and discs push the fluid upwards in the system, and you must make sure it doesn't exceed the "Maximum" mark. Actuate the main brake cylinder in order to bring the brake pads into contact with the disc. Check the pressure point of the brake. Check that the wheel turns freely once you have released the brake. If the brake drags, you may have fitted it incorrectly or the brake pistons may be sticking in the brake caliper.

Warped brake disc – troubleshooting

If you need to replace a brake disc due to warping, you should also check for the following potential problems, which can cause the disc to distort because the brake disc may not be parallel to the brake pistons in the caliper:

  • Is the front wheel fork adjusted correctly/without any misalignment?
  • Is the braking system correctly assembled (brake calipers original and suitable for your bike, and properly aligned with the brake disc)?
  • Are the brake discs in absolutely even contact with the hub (residual paint/Loctite could cause an uneven contact surface)?
  • Is the wheel correctly aligned on the wheel axle and in the centre of the front fork?
  • Is the tyre pressure correct?

But exceeding the thickness service limit of the brake disc, or the disc being warped, or the floaters worn are not the only reasons for replacing the brake disc. A badly scored surface also reduces braking performance noticeably – and again the only solution is to replace the brake disc. If your bike is fitted with dual disc brakes, you should always replace both brake discs at the same time. Similarly, in order to achieve optimum braking performance with a new brake disc, always replace the brake pads at the same time. Even if the old pads are still above the service limit, you still need to replace them, as their surface has adapted to the wear pattern of the old disc and would not be a snug fit with the new one – this would negatively affect braking performance and the new disc would wear down faster.

[IMAGE - Download this tip.]

Download this tip

For the garage: Simply download, print out and take it with you.

the experts

The Louis Technical Centre

Problems getting spare parts? Or maybe you've got a technical question about your motorcycle or an accessory The Louis Technical Centre can help! Remember to quote all the necessary details of your vehicle – better still, send us a copy of your registration document.

We will get back to you as quickly as possible!

So: send us your technical problem!

Please note!

These tips for DIY mechanics contain general recommendations that may not apply to all vehicles or all individual components. As local conditions may vary considerably, we are unable to guarantee the correctness of information in these tips for DIY mechanics.

Thank you for your understanding.

[IMAGE - Buy the Louis Mechanic Manual now.]

German Version

Louis DIY Mechanic Manual

The printed version

The big Louis DIY mechanic manual available in a printed version: in color and practical A4 format at cost price.

Buy now!
Items viewed recently

You do not have any recently viewed items.

N°1 en Europe des motos

Remplacer les disques de frein de la moto

De bons freins sont absolument indispensables dans la circulation routière. Le contrôle régulier du système de freinage est donc impératif pour tous les motards, pas seulement lors des contrôles techniques tous les deux ans.

[HEADER: Changing brake discs on a motorcycle ]

Contrôle d'usure des disques de frein des motos

Outre le changement de liquide de frein usagé et le remplacement des plaquettes usées, l'entretien du système de freinage comprend également le contrôle des disques de frein. Chaque disque dispose d'une épaisseur minimale définie par le fabricant, qui ne doit pas être franchie. Vérifiez l'épaisseur à l'aide d'une vis micrométrique et non d'un pied à coulisse. En effet, une petite crête se forme sur le bord extérieur du disque de frein en raison de l'usure du matériau. Si vous utilisez un pied à coulisse, cette crête peut fausser le calcul.

Une limite d'usure dépassée n'est toutefois pas la seule raison obligeant à changer le disque de frein. Lorsque les forces de freinage sont élevées, les disques de frein atteignent des températures jusqu'à 600 °C. Des températures différentes, notamment au niveau de la bague extérieure et de l'étoile de support du disque, entraînent une dilatation thermique inégale pouvant déformer le disque. Il n'arrive pas qu'aux conducteurs sportifs d'atteindre ces températures extrêmes. Ce phénomène peut se produire lors des déplacements quotidiens. En montagne, les passages de cols (avec des bagages lourds et un passager) obligeant à toujours utiliser le frein font monter les températures à des valeurs vertigineuses. Des pistons d'étrier de frein bloqués provoquent souvent des températures élevées ; les disques, constamment en contact avec la plaquette de frein, s'usent fortement et peuvent se voiler, surtout ceux de diamètre important et fixes.

Sur les motos modernes, des disques fixes bon marché sont utilisés lorsque les charges exercées sur le frein sont relativement faibles. Selon l'état actuel de la technique, des disques flottants sont montés sur l'essieu avant ; ils présentent les avantages suivants :

  • Masse tournant réduite pour une meilleure maniabilité
  • Réduction des masses non amorties
  • Matériaux mieux adaptés aux exigences 

  • Réactivité des freins plus spontanée
  • Tendance à la déformation réduite des disques de frein

Les disques flottants sont dotés d'une frette vissée sur le moyeu de roue ; les « œillets » mobiles font la liaison avec la piste sur laquelle frottent les plaquettes. Si le jeu axial de cette liaison dépasse 1 mm, le disque de frein claque et doit être remplacé. Tout jeu radial génère une sorte de « course » lors du freinage et est également considéré comme un vice par le contrôle technique.

Important : à lire avant de commencer le montage !

Contrôlez si le disque acheté correspond au domaine d'application du véhicule à l'aide de l'homologation ABE fournie. Pour le montage, utilisez uniquement des outils appropriés. Pour serrer correctement les vis du disque et de l'étrier de frein, utilisez une clé dynamométrique.

Consultez un manuel d'atelier correspondant à votre modèle de véhicule ou demandez à un garage agréé pour connaître les couples de serrage et les indications spécifiques à votre véhicule concernant le système de freinage. Ne travaillez vous-même sur le système de freinage selon les instructions suivantes que si vous êtes un bricoleur chevronné. Ne prenez aucun risque au niveau de la sécurité ! Si vous doutez de vos capacités, confiez impérativement les travaux sur votre système de freinage à votre garage.

disques de frein
Lever la moto et détacher l'étrier de frein

Remplacer des disques de frein – voici comment s'y prendre

Détacher l'étrier de frein

Commencez par lever la moto de manière sûre pour décharger la roue sur laquelle vous devez travailler. Utilisez pour cela une béquille d'atelier si votre moto ne dispose pas de béquille centrale. Commencez pas détacher le(s) étrier(s) de frein de leur logement, puis remplacez les plaquettes selon les conseils de mécanique correspondants « Plaquettes de frein ». Accrochez l'étrier de frein avec le fil au véhicule de manière à ce qu'il ne vous dérange pas pour démonter la roue, ne le laissez pas simplement pendre au flexible de frein.

disques de frein
Détacher l'axe de la roue et retirer la roue

Démonter la roue

Détachez l'axe de la roue et retirez la roue de la fourche avant/du bras oscillant.

disques de frein
Desserrer les vis de fixation du disque de frein

Détacher l'ancien disque de frein

Placez la roue sur une surface de travail appropriée et desserrez les vis de fixation du disque en croix. En particulier pour les vis hexagonales bloquées, utilisez un outil de qualité approprié et veillez à l'enclencher le plus profondément possible dans l'empreinte à six pans creux. Lorsque les têtes de vis sont abîmées et que plus aucun outil ne s'enclenche dans leur empreinte, vous aurez du mal à retirer les vis. Lorsque les vis sont bien bloquées, bien souvent, la chaleur et un coup de marteau sur l'outil peuvent aider à les desserrer. Si l'empreinte à six pans creux d'une tête de vis est faussée, vous pouvez essayer d'enfoncer un embout de la taille supérieure en tapant dessus et ainsi desserrer la vis.

disques de frein
Retirer l'ancien disque de frein

Retirer l'ancien disque de frein

Retirez le(s) ancien(s) disque(s) de frein du moyeu et nettoyez la surface d'appui. Éliminez impérativement les irrégularités (restes de peinture, de Loctite, etc.). À cette occasion, les jantes et l'essieu se nettoient plus facilement.

disques de frein
Mettre le nouveau disque de frein en place et le fixer

Monter le nouveau disque de frein

Installez maintenant le(s) nouveau(x) disque(s) de frein. Serrez les vis de fixation en croix en respectant le couple de serrage indiqué par le constructeur du véhicule. Les vis de fixation d'origine fortement corrodées ou endommagées doivent être remplacées par des vis neuves.

Attention : si le constructeur recommande l'utilisation de freinfilet, appliquez-le avec précaution et parcimonie. Le freinfilet liquide ne doit en aucun cas couler sous la surface d'appui du disque de frein. Dans le cas contraire, le parallélisme du disque serait perdu, ce qui entraînerait un frottement lors du freinage. Le montage de la roue et des étriers de frein se fait dans l'ordre inverse au démontage. Tenez compte du sens de rotation du pneu à l'avant.

disques de frein
Vérifier le frein et la roue

Avant d'actionner le cylindre du frein à main, assurez-vous qu'il y a suffisamment de place dans le bocal pour un niveau plus élevé de liquide de frein. Les nouvelles plaquettes et les nouveaux disques pressent le liquide du système vers le haut ; celui-ci ne doit pas dépasser le niveau de remplissage maximum. Actionnez le maître-cylindre pour plaquer les plaquettes de frein. Contrôlez le point de pression du frein. Assurez-vous que la roue tourne librement lorsque le frein est relâché. Si le frein frotte, il y a alors eu une erreur lors du montage ou les pistons sont bloqués dans l'étrier de frein.

Diagnostic des pannes en cas de déformation des disques de frein

Lorsqu'un disque est voilé et doit être remplacé, vérifiez également les autres causes de déformation possibles suivantes (disque de frein éventuellement non parallèle au piston dans l'étrier) :

  • La fourche de la roue avant est-elle correctement réglée/est-elle montée sans déformation ?
  • Le système de freinage est-il bien agencé (étrier de frein d'origine ou compatible avec le véhicule, orienté de manière optimale par rapport au disque de frein lors du montage) ?
  • Les disques de frein reposent-ils de manière parfaitement plane sur le moyeu (une surface d'appui inégale peut être causée par des restes de peinture ou de Loctite) ?
  • La roue tourne-t-elle correctement sur son axe et au centre de la fourche avant ?
  • La pression des pneus est-elle correcte ?

Mais le disque de frein ne doit pas seulement être remplacé lorsque la limite d'usure est dépassée, lorsqu'il est voilé ou lorsque les œillets sont usés. Une surface fortement creusée réduit également nettement l'efficacité de freinage et la seule solution à ce problème est de changer le disque. Si vous disposez de freins à double disque, vous devez toujours remplacer les deux disques. Pour que le freinage avec des disques de frein neufs soit optimal, vous devez toujours monter des plaquettes de frein neuves. Même si les plaquettes n'ont pas encore atteint la limite d'usure, vous ne pouvez plus les réutiliser car leur surface s'est adaptée à l'usure de l'ancien disque et ne serait donc pas en contact de manière optimale avec le nouveau disque. Ceci entraînerait un mauvais freinage et une augmentation de l'usure du nouveau disque.

[IMAGE - Download this tip.]

Télécharger ce conseil

Pour le garage : Il vous suffit de le télécharger, de l'imprimer et de l'emporter.

schraubercrew

Le centre technique Louis

Vous rencontrez des difficultés lors de l'achat de pièces de rechange ? Vous avez des questions techniques concernant la moto ou un accessoire ? Le centre technique Louis vous conseille. N'oubliez pas de fournir les données nécessaires concernant votre véhicule, l'idéal étant une copie de la carte grise.

Nous nous chargerons de votre demande le plus rapidement possible en vous fournissant un maximum de détails.

Alors, décrivez-nous votre problème technique !

  • Par e-mail : order@louis-moto.fr
  • Par courrier au centre technique Louis, 21027 Hambourg, Allemagne

À noter !

Les conseils de mécanique donnent des indications générales qui peuvent ne pas être valables pour tous les véhicules ou tous les composants. Dans certains cas, les spécificités sur site peuvent diverger considérablement. C'est pourquoi nous ne pouvons donner aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des indications fournies dans les conseils de mécanique. 


Merci de votre compréhension.

[IMAGE - Buy the Louis Mechanic Manual now.]

Le grand manuel de mécanique

La version imprimée

Le grand manuel de mécanique Louis en version imprimée: format A4, en couleur àprix de revient.

Acheter maintenant !
Derniers articles visionnés

Vous n'avez consulté aucun article récemment.